Bristol Motor Speedway Receives Joe Littlejohn Award for Service to the NMPA

January 23, 2022
NMPA social share

Bristol Motor Speedway is the 2021 recipient of the Joe Littlejohn Award for service to the National Motorsports Press Association, outgoing NMPA president Reid Spencer announced on Sunday.

The legendary short track in Tennessee is a long-time supporter of the NMPA through recurring sponsorship of the NMPA Hall of Fame reception. This year, Bristol has joined with Speedway Motorsports Inc. and Charlotte Motor Speedway to continue that sponsorship role.

“One of the most pleasurable aspects of the NMPA presidency is the task of choosing the Joe Littlejohn recipient,” Spencer said. “The recognition of Bristol Motor Speedway as a faithful friend of the NMPA is long overdue.

“In addition to its sponsorship, Bristol is one of the most media-friendly race tracks on the NASCAR schedule. Whenever we arrive to cover a race, we feel welcome. And the view from the press box there is one of the best in the world.”

Bristol Motor Speedway bills itself as “The Last Great Coliseum,” a moniker it richly deserves after Speedway Motorsports founder Bruton Smith transformed the Tennessee short track into an opulent facility that can seat more than 150,000 fans. 

The Joe Littlejohn Award is presented each year to a person or persons, or an organization, in recognition for or outstanding service to the NMPA. 

The award is named for the former track owner from Spartanburg, S.C., who also was a competitor in the sport. Littlejohn is credited with two career NASCAR starts, but raced extensively before the formation of NASCAR.

About the NMPA: 

The National Motorsports Press Association is an organization that includes more than 200 press members—writers, broadcasters and photographers—as well as associate members involved in the conduct and promotion of auto racing. In addition to recognizing its own members through yearly contests, the NMPA confers a number of significant annual awards, including the NMPA Most Popular Driver Award for the NASCAR Cup Series, the NMPA Pocono Spirit Award, the Richard Petty Driver of the Year Award, the Myers Brothers Award for service to NASCAR racing and the Wood Brothers Award of Excellence for outstanding contributions to the sport by crew chiefs, mechanics and engine builders. The organization also elects inductees into the NMPA Hall of Fame.

Like this article? Share It.
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkedin
Share on Reddit
Email to Someone
Print This Article